Archaeological Finds

Conserving archaeological textile finds
Conserving archaeological textile finds
The conservation and restoration of archaeological finds at the Swiss National Museum look back on almost 50 years of tradition, during which period conservation techniques were developed that provide the foundation for work done by today’s experts. The most cutting-edge technologies, such as freeze-drying waterlogged textiles and tissues or reducing iron objects in hydrogen plasma before desalinating them, are now deployed in tandem with these long years of experience. Our services are also available for a fee to other museums and institutions.




Conservators

Head Archaeological Objects
Dr. Katharina Schmidt-Ott
katharina.schmidt-ott@snm.admin.ch

Cédric André
cedric.andre@snm.admin.ch

Martin Bader
martin.bader@snm.admin.ch

Stefanie Bruhin
stefanie.bruhin@snm.admin.ch

Elsa Sangouard
elsa.sangouard@snm.admin.ch

Nicole Gebhard
nicole.gebhard@snm.admin.ch

Janet Schramm
janet.schramm@snm.admin.ch

Swiss National Museum
Sammlungszentrum
Lindenmoosstrasse 1
CH-8910 Affoltern a. Albis

Tel. +41 (0)44 762 13 13
Fax +41 (0)44 762 13 41
Printed from: http://www.slmnet.ch/e/sammlung/sammlungszentrum/konservierung_restaurierung/archaeologische_objekte/index.php